Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Spread {Vegan} {GF}

I don’t think I have ever met anyone in my entire life that didn’t like Nutella.  I’m not sure I could ever trust a person that said they didn’t like Nutella.  I mean, really??  Growing up, I was deprived as a child.  OK that’s not entirely true.  I have the best parents in the world and they gave us (my brother, my sister and I) everything and anything we wanted.  However, they did not introduce us into the world of Nutella.  Peanut butter was all I ever knew.

ChocolateHazelnutSpread

Perhaps it’s a good thing they never opened up that jar of goodness for us kiddies – have you read the label?  I’m pretty confident that the first ingredient is sugar.  The commercials however, steer you wrong.  All they mention is hazelnuts, milk and a “hint of cocoa”.

ChocolateHazelnutSpread4

I decided that if that is truly what this delicious spread is supposed to be, then why can’t I just make my own and control the amount of sugar involved?  It took me awhile to get this to the level I wanted.  The first time, I neglected to roast the hazelnuts.  Big mistake.  It was good (I mean, chocolate was involved, how could it be bad?) but it didn’t have much of a taste.  The second time, I thought adding oil instead of milk would bring on the creamy texture.  Another mistake.

ChocolateHazelnutSpread2

The following recipe is stellar – and one I can indulge on morning, noon and night, every day of every week!  Oh and did I mention that it’s only made with natural ingredients and it’s–dare I say it–good for you?

ChocolateHazelnutSpread3

Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Spread

Ingredients

  • 2 cups raw Hazelnuts
  • 1 ½ TBSP Pure Vanilla Extract
  • ¼ cup Cocoa Powder
  • ¼ cup Agave Nectar, Maple Syrup or Honey (you can add more by the TBSP to taste if you like it sweeter but I didn’t find this necessary)
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ cup Unsweetened Original Almond Milk (or other milk of choice)

Directions

Preheat your oven to 400°F.  Roast the hazelnuts for 8 – 10 minutes.  Rub them together with paper towels to get the skins off (as many as possible.  There will be some that won’t come off – that’s OK!).  Process the nuts in a food processor until smooth (this will take a while and you may have to stop throughout the process and scrape down the sides).  Add all other ingredients except for the milk and blend until everything is combined.  Pour in milk after a few minutes and blend until smooth & creamy.  Spread on toast, graham crackers, whole wheat tortillas, fresh fruit, whatever your heart desires!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Spread {Vegan} {GF}

  1. Pingback: Crispy No-Bake Nutella Squares | whole food runner

  2. Pingback: Long Run & Race Nutrition | whole food runner

  3. Pingback: 3-Ingredient Nutella Cookies {Vegan} {GF} | whole food runner

Leave a Reply

