BBQ Tempeh Sloppy Sandwiches

Mmm Tempeh…

Tempeh gets a lot of credit from me.  In fact, it was one of the foods that really made me believe I could be a vegetarian, for real.  I had tempeh for the first time at a little cafe close to my office and after that day, I was hooked (and that was even before my days of ditching the meat, I was just curious as to what it would taste like so I decided to give it a try).  If you have never eaten or cooked with tempeh before, do NOT be turned off by it’s brain-like texture (sorry, but it does looks weird…).

BBQTempehSloppySandwich2

Tempeh is made up of fermented soybeans (I know, it doesn’t look good, it doesn’t sound good but believe me, it tastes delicious!).  I used to only cook it for myself and I would make my husband a poor little animal to feast off of instead (shrimp, chicken, etc.) but he decided to give my weird looking meat-substitute a try and he absolutely loved it!  Tempeh has made it easy for my husband to deal with my vegetarianism.

BBQTempehSloppySandwich3

There are several ways to cook tempeh which I’m sure I’ll get into with later posts/recipes.  I figured a good old classic American dish would be the best way to start.  These BBQ Tempeh Sloppy Sandwiches are named that because they remind me of Sloppy Joe’s – who doesn’t love a Sloppy Joe?  The texture of the chopped tempeh resembles ground beef and I promise, you won’t miss it in this dish!

BBQTempehSloppySandwich

BBQ Tempeh Sloppy Sandwiches (Makes 4 – 6 Servings)

Ingredients

  • 2 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 1 Garlic Clove, minced
  • 1 small Yellow Onion, diced
  • 1 small Green Bell Pepper, diced
  • 2 8oz packages of Tempeh, grated
  • 1 ½ cups of your favorite BBQ sauce (Look for one that does not contain High Fructose Corn Syrup)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns
  • Toppings of your choice (I used arugula, hubby enjoys pepperjack cheese with his)

Directions

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add garlic, onion and bell pepper and sauté until the onions start to caramelize.  Mix in Tempeh and cook until brown.  Add BBQ sauce and continue to cook until everything is combined and the sauce is warmed through.  Add to burger buns and top with whatever your heart desires!

Leave a Reply

