Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts

My mom has always hated brussels sprouts.  Therefore, growing up, I felt lucky that I wasn’t subjected to those little balls of cabbage.  After all, it’s hard enough as a kid to force many other veggies down your throat – broccoli, corn, green beans, etc. so the fact that I could skip one of those was very exciting.

MapleRoastedBrusselSprouts

I didn’t have my first brussels sprout until I was 21 years old.  My roommate at the time was making them with her dinner (the fancy kind that come in the box and are already doused in butter) and she insisted I tried one.  I’m not sure what my mom is so turned off by because I absolutely loved it!

I have been able to experience brussels sprouts cooked a few different ways but to this day, roasting them in maple syrup is by far my favorite.  The pictures you see below were actually taken when I made them on a Saturday as a snack.  Who eats brussels sprouts as a snack?  This girl I guess – they are just that good!

MapleRoastedBrusselSprouts2

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. of Brussels Sprouts
  • 3 TBSP Olive Oil
  • ¼ cup Pure Maple Syrup
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat your oven to 375°F.  Cut brussels sprouts in half, lengthwise.  Toss in olive oil and maple syrup and spread into a 13×9 baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray (just to ensure none of these little boogers stick too bad).  Sprinkle with salt & pepper.  Bake for 30 minutes stirring once, halfway through.

One thought on “Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. Pingback: Balsamic Roasted Brussels Sprouts | whole food runner

Leave a Reply

