Sweet Potato, Tempeh & Bell Pepper Hash

My mom is notorious for buying way too much food, all the time.  I think she still thinks she has at least 3 kids in the house or something because her and my dad frequently make trips to Sam’s Club to buy everything in bulk.  I’m not just talking paper towels and toilet paper and things that they will go through eventually, I’m talking perishables.

SweetPotatoBellPepperTempehHash

I on the other hand hate throwing food away and therefore I try to only buy what I know I am going to use.  However, the other day, I was taking inventory of what we had in our pantry and refrigerator.  Turns out, I went a little crazy in the produce section when we did our grocery shopping for the week and I had a few veggies left that I had no plans for.

SweetPotatoBellPepperTempehHash2

With no recipe ideas on the top of my head, I decided to chop everything up and throw it in a pan.  I added some diced tempeh & spices and the meal turned out to be one of mine and my hubby’s favorites!  We called it a “hash” since it contained potatoes and there is no exact name that makes sense for it.  This is a very versatile dish – I have experimented with different veggies & spices and it always seems to come out tasty.

Sweet Potato, Tempeh & Bell Pepper Hash (Makes 4-6 servings)

Ingredients

  • 1 clove of Garlic, minced
  • 1 small Yellow onion, diced
  • 1 large Sweet Potato, diced
  • 1 8oz package of Tempeh, cubed
  • 2 large Bell Peppers, de-seeded & diced (I used one red and one green)
  • 1 TBSP Smoked Paprika (or more to taste)
  • ¼ tsp ground Cayenne Pepper (more or less depending on your preferred level of heat
  • 3-5 TBSP Olive Oil (you may need more to prevent everything from sticking as you cook)
  • Salt & Pepper

Directions

Heat 3 TBSP of olive oil in your largest skillet over medium high heat.  Add the garlic and onion and cook for about 2 minutes, until the garlic is fragrant and the onion starts to turn translucent. Add in the sweet potato and cook for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the potatoes have softened (this is where you can add more oil if your potatoes are starting to soak it all up and the pan is getting dry).  Add the tempeh, bell peppers and spices and cook for an additional 5 minutes or so.  Once the potatoes are soft to the bite and the tempeh has browned, you are ready to eat! 

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato, Tempeh & Bell Pepper Hash

  1. Pingback: Tri-Color Potato, Brussels Sprout & Tempeh Hash | whole food runner

Leave a Reply

