How I Became a Runner

Whenever someone says to me, “I just HATE running, I can’t get into it, I don’t know how you do it”, it takes me back to my early days of running.  I don’t think any beginning runner thinks, “I love not being able to breathe right now”.  I certainly didn’t enjoy it when I first started it but I also didn’t think it was supposed to be fun so I was OK with that.  Little did I know that it would someday become fun and I just had to power through!

YouJustHaveToGo

My days of running started over 10 years ago.  I would take my dog out and we would run about 1/2 a mile, maybe, on the green-way in my parent’s neighborhood.  At the time, I thought that was quite an accomplishment (as I was bent over, heaving & trying to catch my breath).  Never in my life did I think that one day I would complete a full marathon.

When I went off to college, running became my go-to form of exercise.  I was determined NOT to gain the freshman 15 (especially considering that eating has always been one of my favorite hobbies)!  Fortunately for me, my new daily running routine helped me out with the “freshman negative 15”.

Going to college about 5 minutes from the beach was a big help.  Not only was I reminded every day that I often had to get in a bathing suit in front of my peers, running in the early morning on the beach, watching the sunrise gave me the most amazing feeling – the feeling that I could just run forever.  The key is to start off slow, know that you’re not going to be an Olympian from the start, and to just keep going.  Happy Running!

RunYourselfProud

2 thoughts on “How I Became a Runner

Leave a Reply

