Homemade Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

I was a strange kid.  I never liked pizza growing up (or soda actually – and I STILL don’t thank goodness!).  So much so that when I went to birthday parties where they were serving delivery pizza, the moms would have to make me a peanut butter and jelly sandwich while all of the other kids reached for those greasy slices of white bread + stringy cheese.

HomemadeWholeWheatPizzaDough

As I got older, I tolerated pizza but it was still never a favorite of mine.  I can’t really put my finger on why that was but I decided to try to make a pizza one day at home and I realized I LOVED it.

HomemadeWholeWheatPizzaDough2

I started off making pizzas by using those pre-made store-bought crusts.  They weren’t the worst things in the world but I felt as though a lot of them tasted like cardboard, and there weren’t many choices (rarely was there a whole wheat option).  An easy way to solve that?  Make my own!

HomemadeWholeWheatPizzaDough3

I still don’t enjoy delivery pizza often because I have been spoiled by this delicious crust (and the flexibility to top it with absolutely ANYTHING).  You can use this recipe to make one thick and fluffy crust or split the recipe in half for two thinner crust pizzas (this is my preference).  Then top with whatever you wish, bake, and enjoy!

HomemadeWholeWheatPizza4

Homemade Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

Ingredients

  • 2 ¼ tsp Active Dry Yeast (1 small packet)
  • 1 ½ cups Warm Water
  • ½ tsp Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 2 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 3 ½ cups of Whole Wheat Flour

Directions

Combine the yeast and brown sugar with the warm water and set aside for 10 minutes.  Add in the salt and olive oil and stir.  Add in 2 ½ cups of flour and stir until it becomes a sticky dough ball.  Pour the dough out onto a clean, well-floured surface and knead in more flour until the dough is no longer sticky.  Form into a ball and place in a well-oiled bowl.  Set aside and allow it to rise for one hour in room temperature.  After an hour, the dough should have doubled in size.  Punch it down and form a tight ball. Allow the dough to relax a minute before rolling out then use it for your favorite pizza recipe or top it with whatever toppings you’d like.  Preheat your oven to 425°F.  If you are using a pizza stone, you may add toppings and cook it right away for 15 to 20 minutes.  If you are just using a regular baking sheet, make sure you prepare it with cooking spray, lay the dough on top of the pan and allow it to rise for 15 to 20 minutes before baking.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

  1. Pingback: Thrifty Thursday: Homemade Pizza | Eating My Feelings

Leave a Reply

