Crispy No-Bake Nutella Squares

You know you work with some pretty awesome people when you actually want to see them after you have been working with them for 8 long hours in the day.  My work friends and I have dinner parties about once a month (really this has only happened about 3 times but we’re trying to make a trend out of it!).

CrispyNoBakeNutellaSquares

A few weeks ago, they all came over to my house for homemade pizza (post on that coming soon!).  What I was really looking forward to, however, was dessert.

CrispyNoBakeNutellaSquares2

I had been boasting about my Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Spread to them for weeks but somehow I never managed to bring it in to let them try it (maybe that’s because I would clean out the whole jar in less than a few days so there wasn’t enough to share…just a thought).  Instead, I decided to incorporate it into some kind of dessert that everyone would love. 

CrispyNoBakeNutellaSquares3CrispyNoBakeNutellaSquares4

As I mentioned in my post about the Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Spread, I have never met anyone that didn’t like Nutella.  I have also never met anyone who didn’t like Rice Krispie Treats so I figured I could combine the two to make a totally awesome dessert that everyone would enjoy.  The results?  Crispy, chocolaty goodness!  The perfect way to cleanse the palate after one (or two or three) slice(s) of pizza.

CrispyNoBakeNutellaSquares5

Crispy No-Bake Nutella Squares

Ingredients

  • 6 cups of crispy rice cereal (look for a kind that does not contain high-fructose corn syrup – sadly, the original from childhood does)
  • 2 TBSP pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 cup Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Spread
  • 2/3 cup Agave (or Honey if you’re not a strict vegan)
  • ½ cup Cocoa Powder

Directions

Mix all ingredients except for rice cereal in a large microwave-safe bowl and melt in the microwave for about 30 seconds until it is a pourable consistency.  Stir in the crispy rice cereal and stir until all the pieces are covered in chocolate.  Pour mixture out into a 13” x 9” baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray or lined with parchment paper.  Using a piece of wax paper, press the mixture down has hard as you can to flatten out the top.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before cutting.  Cut into 15 squares and store in the refrigerator in an airtight container.     

One thought on “Crispy No-Bake Nutella Squares

  1. Pingback: Kale & Chickpea Stew over Creamy Polenta | whole food runner

Leave a Reply

