From “Jogger” to “Runner”

I never felt confident enough to call myself a “runner” until I began participating in races.  Racing is something that never really crossed my mind.  I didn’t have the slightest interest in it when I first began running.  I think that’s because I was never a very competitive person and I thought that adding an element of competition to it would take the fun out of running for me.

WBHalf

It wasn’t until after six years of running that I finally decided to give racing a try.  Having lost 3 Grandparents and a Great Aunt to lung issues, I signed up for a local 5K that benefited Lung Cancer Awareness in 2009.  I still run that same 5K every year but it wasn’t until I ran my first half marathon in January of 2011 that I was hooked on racing.

Atlanta13.1Finish

We made a weekend trip out of my first half marathon (and we do that with many today).  My entire family came along to support me at the finish line.  It was a race that started at 8:00AM so I told them to be there at 10:15AM (thinking it would definitely take me at least 2 hours and 15 minutes to run the long 13.1 miles!).

CallMeAJoggerJoggerVsRunner

I crossed the finish line with my family nowhere in sight – to my surprise, I finished the race in 1:49.  That moment is when I decided I had made the leap from “jogger” to “runner” and all I could think about after that was where my next race was going to be.

Has anyone else there had an “a-ha” moment where you felt confident enough to call yourself a “runner”?

One thought on “From “Jogger” to “Runner”

  1. Pingback: Why Every Runner Needs to Run a Race | whole food runner

Leave a Reply

