Black Bean Quinoa Burgers

Before my days of being a vegetarian, I used to put away quite a few burgers.  I gave up eating red meat years ago so beef burgers turned into turkey burgers for me and I was absolutely OK with that.  I actually preferred them.

BlackBeanQuinoaBurgers

My tastes have evolved in my favor.  When I gave up meat for good, veggie burgers were one of the reasons.  I was ordering them at restaurants long before I became animal-friendly and eventually I realized I didn’t miss any type of meaty burger because I had developed a love affair with a good veggie burger.

BlackBeanQuinoaBurgers2

I’m not talking about those frozen patties of fake meat that you buy at the grocery store.  I’m talking about a burger made with whole ingredients that you can pronounce (maybe with the exception of “quinoa” if you haven’t hopped on that crazy train yet – what are you waiting for?).

BlackBeanQuinoaBurgers3BlackBeanQuinoaBurgers4

The black beans give you all the protein you need – did you know that 4oz of black beans have 24 grams of protein?  That is equivalent to 4oz of red meat but with black beans, you save 200 calories and get a dose of fiber.  Winning!  The quinoa (pronounced “keen-wah” if you didn’t see my post for my Southwestern Quinoa Salad), believe it or not, gives this burger a “meaty” texture.  Even the men/boys in your life will be happy with this sucker.

BlackBeanQuinoaBurgers5

Black Bean Quinoa Burgers

Ingredients

  • ½ cup Uncooked Quinoa
  • 1 cup Water
  • 1 small Yellow Onion, diced
  • 1 large Garlic Clove, minced
  • 2 cans Black Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 Yellow Bell Pepper (or green, orange, or red, whatever you wish), diced
  • ½ cup – 1 cup Oats
  • 1 ½ tsp ground Cumin
  • ½ tsp Salt
  • ¼ tsp ground Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 Egg (if Vegan, use egg replacer: 1 TBSP ground flax seed soaked in 2 ½ TBSP warm water for a few minutes)
  • 1 TBSP + 3 TBSP Olive Oil
  • Toppings of your choice: Spinach, Goat Cheese, Tomato Slices, Avocado Slices, etc.

Directions

Bring the quinoa and water to a boil in a saucepan.  Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender and the water has been absorbed, about 15 to 20 minutes.  Heat 1 TBSP of olive oil in a small skillet.  Cook the onions and garlic until the onions start to caramelize.  Roughly mash the black beans with a fork into a paste.  Mix the quinoa, oats, bell pepper, cooked onion & garlic, cumin, salt, cayenne & egg into the black bean “paste”. Form the mixture into 6 patties (more or less depending on how large you would like them to be).  Heat the remaining olive oil in a large skillet.  Cook the patties in the hot oil until heated through, about 2 to 3 minutes per side.

3 thoughts on “Black Bean Quinoa Burgers

Leave a Reply

