Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Believe it or not (my husband would believe it), my first word was “cookie”.  That’s right.  Not “mama” or “dada” but “cookie”.  I think it was pretty evident that I would grow up to have quite the sweet tooth even from my younger years.

BananaOatmealChocolateChipCookie

The cookies that I grew up loving (and that probably gave me the inspiration to finally speak) were the good old-fashioned Chips Ahoy Chocolate Chip Cookies.  In fact, I’m not going to lie, even though I haven’t one of those in years (probably decades), I bet I could polish off a good amount of those babies.

BananaOatmealChocolateChipCookies2BananaOatmealChocolateChipCookies3

Unfortunately, I’m thinking that would probably go against my whole “healthy lifestyle vibe” I try to keep up so naturally, I had to think of a way to accommodate my love for cookies without turning into this guy.  

BananaOatmealChocolateChipCookies4

These cookies offer chocolaty goodness with none of the bad stuff – no refined sugar, butter, oil etc.  And while they don’t taste anything like the processed Chips Ahoy cookies from my childhood, they get the job done when it comes to satisfying my sweet tooth.

BananaOatmealChocolateChipCookies5

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies          

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe Bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 cup all-natural Peanut Butter (I use Smucker’s Creamy)
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened Applesauce
  • 2 tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
  • ½ tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • Pinch of ground Cloves
  • Pinch of ground Nutmeg
  • 1 ½ cups of Whole Rolled Oats (the quick-cooking kind will work too, these just give more texture)
  • ¾ cups of Dark Chocolate Chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or foil sprayed with cooking spray).   In a large bowl, mix together the bananas, peanut butter, applesauce, vanilla and spices.  Add the oats and chocolate chips and stir well.  Spoon dough (about the size of 2 TBSP) onto the baking sheet, spacing them at least an inch apart (they won’t spread out much).  Bake for 20-30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

