Homemade Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Some people don’t even know what gnocchi is let alone how to pronounce it (the Italian/correct way is “nyawk-kee”).  I feel bad for those people.

SweetPotatoGnocchi

I grew up on the shelf-stable packages of gnocchi.  We didn’t have it too often but when we did, it was a real treat.  I always loved pasta, I always loved potatoes so pasta + potatoes combined into one?  I LOVED it.

SweetPotatoGnocchi2SweetPotatoGnocchi3

Then one of my friends told me that her mom knew how to make it.  I didn’t even realize that it was something you could make.  Sad.  I thought everything came from a factory and/or a box.

SweetPotatoGnocchi4SweetPotatoGnocchi5

I finally decided one day to be bold and make these little pillows of heaven (I thought of them that way even before I heard Giada De Laurentiis say that on her show the other day!).  Making them myself also allowed me to “healthify” them.

SweetPotatoGnocchi6

By using sweet potatoes (the Vitamin A-rich superfood) instead of regular potatoes and garbanzo bean flour instead of white flour, I was able to create a guilt-free delicious meal that my sister has actually stated is “her favorite dinner EVER”.

SweetPotatoGnocchi7SweetPotatoGnocchi8

I must warn you, this is a pretty time-consuming process so we usually only make it on the weekends when we have plenty of time to devote to it.  It’s easy though (and totally worth it) so don’t let that scare you!  Sorry for all the pictures – I couldn’t decide which ones to cut!  Only one more I promise:

Mmmmm gnocchi…

SweetPotatoGnocchi9

Homemade Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Ingredients

  • 2 large Sweet Potatoes
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • ½ tsp ground Nutmeg
  • 1/3 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 cups GF Flour (I used Garbanzo Bean Flour), plus extra for rolling
  • 2 TBSP Olive Oil

Directions

Pierce sweet potatoes with a fork and cook in the microwave on high for 10 minutes, stopping halfway through to turn them over (you could also bake them if you would rather but this takes much longer and the results are the same).  Remove them from the microwave, and set aside to cool.  Cut the sweet potatoes in half and scoop out the inside into a medium bowl.  Mash well and then place the bowl in the refrigerator to let it cool completely.

When the sweet potatoes have cooled, add the salt, nutmeg and pepper to the sweet potatoes.  Next, add the flour, about ½ cup at a time and mix well until combined.  When all of the flour has been mixed in and a slightly sticky dough-ball has formed, divide it into six portions. 

Flour a clean work surface and your hands and starting with the first segment of dough, roll out into a rope about ½ inch in diameter.  Cut into 1-inch pieces and set aside.  Continue until all your “pillows” have been created. 

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add gnocchi (about 20 at a time) and cook for about 4 minutes (they will float to the surface when they are done).  Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the finished gnocchi and cook another 4 minutes in the pan to get it nice and brown/crisp on the outside (this step can be done when your next batch of gnocchi is boiling).  Continue this process until all the pieces are cooked and serve with your favorite sauce.  I used my homemade Kale & Walnut Pesto. 

6 thoughts on “Homemade Sweet Potato Gnocchi

  1. Pingback: Kale & Walnut Pesto | whole food runner

  2. Wow, these gnocchi look amazing! Sometimes it could be difficult to make them cause they easily become sticky…like really gluey…but these are perfect! I never made them with sweet potatoes but it sounds like a great idea. Here in Italy we usually fry sage leaves in some butter an put it on gnocchi, with lots of parmigiano. It’s the perfect sauce 🙂

    • Thank you!!! I was really happy with how these turned out. You’re right though, sometimes they are difficult to make because you have to get the perfect consistency otherwise they will fall apart or be too dense. That fried sage & butter sauce sounds delicious, I will have to try that next time :).

  3. Pingback: Potato Gnocchi with Arugula Pesto & Cherry Tomatoes {GF} | whole food runner

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin Ricotta Gnocchi with Sage Brown Butter & Toasted Hazelnuts {Vegetarian} {GF} | whole food runner

  5. Pingback: Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Rosemary Brown Butter, Asparagus & Pine Nuts | Whole Life Wife

Leave a Reply

