The Creamiest Hummus EVER

To be honest, the first time I had hummus, I didn’t care for it.  Most likely because I thought it was a peanut dip and my taste buds were a little shocked.  Nowadays, hummus is a staple on my weekly grocery list.  It’s a rare occasion if we don’t have it in our refrigerator.

CreamiestHummusEver

will admit that buying it from the store is much easier than making it and it’s not very difficult to find a store-bought version that isn’t full of crap and fillers.  Still, I wanted to test out making my own at home to see if I could make it just a little better.  Have you ever had hummus at a sit down restaurant that was so incredibly creamy?  There is a great place below my office that has the smoothest most creamiest (yeah I know, that’s not proper) hummus EVER and I was determined to re-create it.

CreamiestHummusEver2

I love trying out different flavor variations but sometimes, less is more.  Sometimes I am craving a super simple, traditional version.  I did some searching to learn the secret to making hummus nice and smooth.  The trick is a little bit of a pain in the you-know-what but it’s totally worth it.

CreamiestHummusEver3

Peeling the little skins off the chickpeas is what makes this traditional hummus ultra velvety.  It’s a little time-consuming but it’s super easy so I don’t think this step should be skipped (unless you really don’t want to – then you’ll still be left with a slightly less creamy traditional hummus.  Just don’t complain about it 🙂 ).

CreamiestHummusEver4

The Creamiest Hummus EVER

Ingredients

  • 1 15oz can Chickpeas, drained (reserving liquid) & rinsed
  • Juice from half of a Lemon (or 1 ½ TBSP Lemon Juice)
  • 2 cloves of Garlic, minced
  • ¼ cup Tahini
  • 1/3 cup of reserved liquid from Chickpeas
  • 1 tsp Salt

Directions

After draining and rinsing the chickpeas, peel all the skins by pinching each bean in between your thumb and forefinger.  While this seems like a time-consuming task, the skins slip off very easily and this is the key to creating the creamiest hummus so don’t skip it! When all the skins have been removed, blend them in a food processor until they look like little crumbs.  Add the remaining ingredients and blend until smooth.  Pour the hummus into a bowl & drizzle with olive oil & sprinkle with paprika.  Serve with raw vegetables and/or toasted whole wheat pita bread.

3 thoughts on “The Creamiest Hummus EVER

  1. No wonder the hummus at some restaurants are so creamy! Never heard of skinning a chickpea before!!! I am living proof you are never too old to learn something new! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Baked Hummus Spinach Dip {GF} | whole food runner

Leave a Reply

