Simple Oven-Roasted Okra

Ever since becoming a vegetarian, I have become very open to trying new things, especially when it comes to vegetables.  I don’t know about you but I went through life just eating whatever my mom put in front of me (most of it at least) and not even realizing that I was missing out on so many things (i.e., Brussels Sprouts).

SimpleOvenRoastedOkra

You get so used to eating the same things over and over again, so much that you forget there is so much more out there.  There are so many veggies I had never heard of before that I am getting to experience now.   I used to stroll right by them in the grocery store without even blinking an eye.

SimpleOvenRoastedOkra2

Like Brussels Sprouts, I never tried okra until I was in college and therefore, I never knew that I loved it!  My mom claims it’s too “slimy”, which I can understand, but I love the taste and the “sliminess” doesn’t bother me in the least.

SimpleOvenRoastedOkra3I live in the south, so most of the okra you find here is nicely breaded and deep-fried.  I’ll admit, I’m a fan of those greasy little fried friends but I actually prefer this healthier alternative.  They are exactly what the title claims – simple.  Olive oil, salt, pepper & of course, okra.  That’s it!

SimpleOvenRoastedOkra4

Simple Oven-Roasted Okra

Ingredients

  • About 1 lb. of fresh Okra
  • 2 TBSP Olive Oil
  • Salt & Black Pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 425°F.  Wash and dry your okra.  Cut the tops off and then slice them into pieces about a ½ inch thick.  Spread on a baking sheet that has been prepped with foil & cooking spray.  Drizzle with olive oil and stir until coated then sprinkle with salt & pepper.  Bake for 20 minutes, stirring once, halfway through.

Leave a Reply

