Tomato Tempeh Bowl with Herbed Quinoa

I know everyone has had one of these moments – you don’t feel like cooking anything extravagant but you don’t feel like going out.  I have these moments often.

TomatoTempehBowlHerbedQuinoa

This recipe was born out of an assortment of lone ingredients left in my fridge.  I didn’t feel like going to the store so I was wracking my brain, trying to find some inspiration in my kitchen using whatever I had on hand.

TomatoTempehHerbedQuinoa2TomatoTempehHerbedQuinoa3

I had some tomatoes, quinoa, tempeh and fresh herbs – done.   I started by sautéing some garlic with tomatoes until they became a sauce, then I added some chopped up tempeh to form a vegetarian “Bolognese”.  I served it over some quinoa tossed with fresh herbs and voila!  Dinnertime.

TomatoTempehHerbedQuinoa4

Tomato Tempeh Bowl with Herbed Quinoa (Makes 4 Servings)             

Ingredients

  • 2 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 1 clove of Garlic, minced
  • 12oz package of Cherry Tomatoes, diced
  • 2 tsp Balsamic Vinegar
  • 8oz block of Tempeh, chopped
  • 1 cup dry Quinoa
  • 2 cups Water
  • ¼ cup Fresh Herbs (I used Basil & Oregano), chopped

Directions

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add garlic and cook for about 2 minutes.  Add diced tomatoes and balsamic vinegar and cook until they start to break down and turn into a “sauce”, about 10 minutes.  Add the tempeh and continue to cook the sauce until the tempeh starts to brown, about another 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, bring water and quinoa to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer, cover and cook for about 15 minutes or until all of the liquid has been absorbed.  Mix in the chopped herbs.

Divide the quinoa into bowls and spoon sauce on top.  Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

