Snickerdoodle “Ice Cream”

Happy Halloween!  I hope everyone is excited for a night full of candy (that’s what Halloween is all about, right?).  I don’t really care for candy.  I know, it’s weird.  My sweet/dessert of choice instead would be ICE CREAM.  

SnickerdoodleIceCream

Ice cream is one of those things that I can eat and eat and eat and never get tired of (or full of).  It was always my dessert of choice as a kid and as I got older, my love for it only grew with me.

SnickerdoodleIceCream2SnickerdoodleIceCream3

Honestly, I could probably eat an entire half-gallon all by myself in one sitting if I didn’t have that little thing called discipline.  That’s always been my problem.  Quantity.  When it comes to ice cream, I always want more, I just can’t get enough!

SnickerdoodleIceCream4

One way to help this little debacle is to make it guilt-free.  By using frozen banana chunks & Greek yogurt, this chilly treat has become my guilt-free obsession.

SnickerdoodleIceCream5

Snickerdoodle “Ice Cream”            

Ingredients

  • 2 Bananas, cut into large chunks & frozen for at least 2 hours
  • 1 6oz container of plain Greek Yogurt (I use Fage 0%)
  • 1 TBSP Cashew Butter (or any other nut butter just to tone down the “banana” taste)
  • 1 TBSP Honey
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Brown Sugar
  • 2 tsp Vanilla

Directions

Blend the banana chunks in a food processor until they look like “crumbs”.  Add the remaining ingredients and blend until smooth.  Serve immediately or freeze for later (but keep in mind that it will be more like soft-serve right away and hard like ice cream after re-frozen.

One thought on “Snickerdoodle “Ice Cream”

  1. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Chunk Peanut Butter “Ice Cream” | whole food runner

Leave a Reply

