Soft & Chewy Granola Bars

I don’t mean to brag, but I am the BEST person to travel with (IMO).  Before you go thinking that I am full of myself, realize that I’m talking about the fact that I always have homemade snacks when I travel (and I do share from time to time).  That’s what I think makes me a great travel partner.

SoftAndChewyGranolaBars

Some people think I’m crazy because I bring so much food on trips.  One time I was at away at a bachelorette party and as we were hopping from bar to bar, I pulled a homemade granola bar out of my purse.  Two of the girls I was with started laughing at me and then seconds later said, “I’m starving too, can I have a bite of that??”

SoftAndChewyGranolaBars2

They later asked me for the recipe.  I have to be prepared with food when I travel because when you eat as much as I do, you never know when the hunger pang is going to strike.  Then, when it does strike, you sometimes don’t know when you’re going to get to eat.  For me, this is a terrible feeling.

SoftAndChewyGranolaBars3

Homemade granola bars are an easy on-the-go, healthy and filling snack.  They are very versatile and you can change them up as much as you want by adding different nuts, dried fruits, etc.  Feel free to experiment with this recipe.

SoftAndChewyGranolaBars4

Soft & Chewy Granola Bars                                              

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Whole Grain Oats
  • 1 cup Natural Peanut Butter
  • 1/3 cup Honey (use Maple Syrup or Agave if strict Vegan)
  • ½ cup Unsweetened Applesauce
  • ½ cup ground Flaxseed
  • ½ cup Almond Meal*
  • 2 TBSP Chia Seeds
  • 1 TBSP Cinnamon
  • ½ cup Dark Chocolate Chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Spread the dry oats out onto a baking sheet and roast in the oven for about 10-15 minutes.  Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and stir until well combined (make sure the oats have completely cooled down before add in the chocolate chips though or else they will melt).  Spread the dough out onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Press the mixture down until it’s as even as possible (into about a 1 inch thick layer).  Bake for about 15-20 minutes until they turn a nice golden brown.  Allow to cool and then cut into bars and store in a Tupperware or Ziploc.

*Almond meal can be found in some grocery stores including Trader Joe’s.  To make it at home, take raw almonds and toast in the oven for about 5-10 minutes until nice and fragrant.  Grind in a food processor until almond meal forms.  Be careful not to process for too long or else you will end up with almond butter.

One thought on “Soft & Chewy Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: Superfood Spotlight: Chocochia Pudding (Chia Seeds) | The Jolly Beetroot

Leave a Reply

