Orecchiette Pasta with Butternut Squash, Spinach & Chickpeas

I said it before and I’ll say it again.  I hate cold weather.  And while I don’t mind fall, summer still ranks much higher on my scale.  There are some good things about fall.

OrecchiettePastaButternutSquashSpinachChickpeas

The colors are pretty, everyone else seems to be in a good mood because they are happy about the drastic temperature drops (weirdos) which is nice, and I get to buy as many pairs of Target boots as my husband will let me (fortunately it’s a lot since he knows that will soften the blow of the undeniable season change).

OrecchiettePastaButternutSquashSpinachChickpeas2

Fall also brings us a fresh new round of vegetables to choose from at the local Farmer’s Market, including butternut squash – one my absolute favorites.

OrecchiettePastaButternutSquashSpinachChickpeas3

If you could take fall and put it into a bowl, I believe you would end up with this.  Butternut squash and shallots are sautéed in a garlicky broth then tossed with whole grain pasta, spinach and chickpeas.  As long as I can stay inside and eat it, I’ll be happy!  I hope everyone has a great weekend.  I won’t be posting tomorrow but lookout on Saturday for my very first contribution to the Virtual Vegan Potluck!

OrecchiettePastaButternutSquashSpinachChickpeas4

Orecchiette Pasta with Butternut Squash, Chickpeas & Spinach

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Orecchiette Pasta
  • 1 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 2 cups Butternut Squash, peeled & diced
  • 2 small Shallots, diced
  • 2 cloves of Garlic, minced
  • 14oz Vegetable Broth
  • 1 TBSP fresh Sage
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 8 cups fresh Spinach, coarsely chopped
  • 1 15oz can of Chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 TBSP Balsamic Vinegar

Directions

Cook orecchiette pasta according to package directions.  In a large, flat-bottomed skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat.  Add butternut squash, shallots and garlic and cook for 2 minutes.  Stir in broth sage, salt & pepper.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to simmer and cook an additional 6 to 8 minutes until the butternut squash is cooked through, stirring occasionally.  Add the spinach, chickpeas and cooked pasta and cook, gently stirring until the spinach is starting to wilt, about 2 minutes.  Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and serve immediately.

3 thoughts on “Orecchiette Pasta with Butternut Squash, Spinach & Chickpeas

  1. Pingback: I Cooked: Mini Shell Pasta with Butternut Squash, Spinach, and Chickpeas | Basically I'm Complicated

Leave a Reply

