Quinoa Cornbread {Vegan}

The other day, the hubby and I went over to my parents’ house for dinner.  Bison chili for the meat-eaters, tempeh chili for the vegetarians (and I am the lone ranger in this category).  My mom has been wonderful at going out of her way to make sure I can eat if she invites us over for dinner. 

QuinoaCornbread

It’s been almost a year since I cut out meat and it has been an adjustment for everyone.  My biggest fear when becoming a vegetarian wasn’t that I was going to miss meat, it was that I was going to inconvenience people who often cooked for me.

QuinoaCornbread

The tempeh chili was a new addition to her vegetarian meal line-up and one that I enjoyed very much (thanks Mom!).  Since she went out of her way to cook something special for me that I likely was going to be the only one eating, I decided to contribute to the meal with something that everyone could enjoy.

QuinoaCornbreadQuinoaCornbread

I was actually really surprised at just how good this cornbread turned out.  It’s full of whole grains and fresh corn yet it was still so moist and full of flavor.  The hubs even requested another batch before we headed into Thanksgiving!  So, if you’re looking for an easy, healthy cornbread to bring to the table (pun-intended), give this recipe a try. 

QuinoaCornbread

Quinoa Cornbread {Vegan}     

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour (or sub other flour)
  • 1 cup Cornmeal (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • ½ tsp Baking Soda
  • ½ tsp Salt
  • ½ cup Vegan Butter (such as EarthBalance), melted
  • 1 cup Almond Milk (or sub other milk)
  • 1 TBSP Lemon Juice
  • 2 TBSP ground Flaxseed + 6 TBSP Warm Water (or 2 eggs if not Vegan)
  • 4 TBSP Honey (or Agave Nectar if strict Vegan)
  • 1 cup cooked Quinoa
  • 1 cup frozen Corn Kernels, thawed

Directions

Preheat your oven to 375°F.  Prepare the flax eggs by combining flaxseed and warm water in a small bowl.  Set aside for a few minutes to let it gel.  In a large bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients and set aside.  Melt the butter in a medium bowl and add the almond milk, lemon juice, honey and flax eggs.  Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.  Add the cooked quinoa and corn kernels and stir until everything is evenly incorporated.  Pour the dough into a prepared 8” x 8” or 7” x 11” baking dish and bake for 30-35 minutes or until the edges are golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

12 thoughts on “Quinoa Cornbread {Vegan}

  1. Your cornbread looks delicious. I love your addition of quinoa and corn kernels (many cornbreads I see contain just the flour and cornmeal). It’s wonderful that your mom made you a tempeh chilli! I know what you mean about feeling as though you are inconveniencing others with your lifestyle. I feel as though I have been doing that my entire life. Now (it finally came when hitting mid ’40s), I’m not going to worry so much. I’ve decided that I am going to show others how easy, delicious, and healthy vegan dishes are!!

    • Thank you!! That’s a great mentality to have and it’s starting to get easier since many places are becoming more vegetarian-friendly. And I agree about trying to show others how easy and delicious vegan dishes are – that’s part of why I started my blog :). Thanks again for the sweet comment!

      • I agree – it is starting to get easier and people are not “gasping” as much when you tell them you don’t eat animal products. I find that they are more inquisitive now and will ask many questions. That’s good – it means that they are thinking about it too! (at least that’s what I believe). 🙂

  2. I had that same fear of inconveniencing others not so much when I went veg, but when I went gluten free, for sure. It just gets so complicated! It’s really fantastic that your family has been so supportive and adaptive of your changes!

  3. I had (and still have) the exact same fear, especially with my mom who cooks for everyone and is so busy cooks. I always tell her to make what she plans too and I’ll eat what I can – but she still makes special dishes for me. Yay for moms!

  4. Pingback: Thai Coconut Lentil Soup | whole food runner

  5. Pingback: Spiced Sweet Potato Casserole with Pecans & Candied Ginger {Vegan} {GF} | whole food runner

  6. Pingback: Vegan Thanksgiving Side Dishes | whole food runner

Leave a Reply

