Cashew Creamed Kale {Vegan} {GF}

I have been meaning to post about my first Vegetarian Thanksgiving for awhile now.  Sorry for my laziness – I just haven’t gotten around to that!

CashewCreamedKaleHonestly, I didn’t miss the turkey.  It was never my favorite main dish anyway.  I also have never been a huge fan of gravy so omitting that from my mashed potatoes wasn’t too sad.

CashewCreamedKale

My mom hosted Thanksgiving this year and I offered to bring plenty of Vegan-friendly side dishes (basically so I would have some healthy options!).  The crowd pleasing dish by far was the Coconut Ginger Sweet Potato Casserole (post on that coming soon) but my personal favorite was the Vegan version of creamed-kale.

CashewCreamedKale

It was creamy, “cheesey” and loaded with smokey kale and fresh tomatoes.  This is one that I may be making year-round.

Cashew Creamed Kale {Vegan}

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Cashews, soaked at least 3 hours & drained
  • 1 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1 ½ cups Water
  • ¼ cup Nutritional Yeast
  • ¼ tsp ground Nutmeg
  • ¾ tsp Sea Salt
  • ½ tsp Black Pepper
  • 1 clove of Garlic, minced
  • 1 Shallot, diced
  • 1 TBSP Lemon Juice
  • 15oz of Kale, de-stemmed and coarsely chopped
  • 2 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 2 Tomatoes, diced
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350°F.  In the bowl of a food processor, add the drained cashews, almond milk, and the water.  Blend until combined.  Add the nutritional yeast, nutmeg, salt, pepper, half of the diced shallot, garlic and lemon juice.  Blend again until everything is nice and smooth.

Meanwhile, heat oil a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the remaining diced shallots and cook until starting to brown.  Add the kale and cook until starting to wilt.  Add the cashew cream and toss until the kale is coated.  Remove from heat and mix in the diced tomatoes.  Pour into a prepared casserole dish and bake for about 20 minutes.

11 thoughts on “Cashew Creamed Kale {Vegan} {GF}

    • It DOES look like spinach dip! I haven’t played around with the thickness very much because the consistency with the above measurements was perfect to me. I’m sure you can adjust it by adding more or less almond milk though if you’d like. Thanks for your sweet comment 🙂

    • It’s the best! It’s so amazing what cashews and nutritional yeast can do to make you think you’re eating cheese. A lot of people shy away from nutritional yeast just because it’s not very common (or easy to find) but it’s so delicious!

  1. Wow – this dish sounds fantastic!! I’m really excited to try this. Celeste 🙂 PS – Just wanted to take a moment to let you know that I’ve enjoyed following your blog for the past few months and happy holidays! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Spiced Sweet Potato Casserole with Pecans & Candied Ginger {Vegan} {GF} | whole food runner

  3. Pingback: Vegan Thanksgiving Side Dishes | whole food runner

Leave a Reply

