Chewy Chocolate Ginger Cookies {Vegan} {GF}

Christmas means all kinds of different things to many different people.  There are several things I think about when Christmas comes around – being with loved ones, remembering how lucky we all are to have the life we have, and last but not least, Christmas Cookies.

ChewyChocolateGingerCookiesEvery year, my family (sister actually – she’s the baker of the family) makes WAY too many cookies.  We always bake at least 3 or 4 different kinds too.  Even if we have a small gathering for Christmas (like we did this year), we still had to make every single batch.  However, we have our traditions, and cutting out one of the many varieties we have come to know and love so much would just be too devastating.

ChewyChocolateGingerCookiesChewyChocolateGingerCookies

The staples in my parent’s house typically include traditional sugar and/or gingerbread men (we need at least one kind that can be rolled out, cut and decorated), molasses crinkles (a gingersnap-type favorite we adopted from my old piano teacher) and chocolate snowflakes (my sister & I’s favorite – they are like brownie cookies rolled in powdered sugar).

ChewyChocolateGingerCookiesChewyChocolateGingerCookies 

Since I am the health freak of the family, the only thing on my mind was “which of these goodies am I going to be able to eat without feeling like crap?”  Knowing that my sister already had way too many cookies on her plate (pun-intended), I felt as though it was my responsibility to make a healthy treat that could stand up against the other sugary delights.

ChewyChocolateGingerCookies

Since I grew up loving both the molasses crinkles and chocolate snowflakes, it only seemed fitting that I should create a hybrid version of those with a healthy twist.  The result was better than I expected!  These tasty morsels have the perfect balance of cocoa and spices, are gluten-free, refined sugar-free, and stay soft and chewy for days (assuming they last that long 🙂 ).

ChewyChocolateGingerCookies

Chewy Chocolate Ginger Cookies {Vegan} {GF}

Ingredients

  • 2 ½ cups packed Almond Flour (or sub another flour)
  • ½ cup Cocoa Powder
  • ½ tsp ground Flaxseed or Chia Seeds
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • ½ tsp Salt
  • 1 TBSP ground Cinnamon
  • 1 TBSP ground Ginger
  • 2/3 cup + 2 tsp Agave Nectar (or Pure Maple Syrup)
  • 1 Flax Egg (1 TBSP ground flaxseed + 2 ½ TBSP warm water)
  • ¼ cup Molasses
  • 2/3 cup Earth Balance (or another vegan butter spread), melted
  • ½ tsp Pure Vanilla Extract 

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  In a large bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, ground flaxseed, baking soda, spices and salt.  Mix well.  In a separate bowl, combine the remaining ingredients.  Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and stir well to combine.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Drop rounded tablespoons of the batter into about 24 balls.  Place evenly on the cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes.

11 thoughts on “Chewy Chocolate Ginger Cookies {Vegan} {GF}

  1. These sound great! I also had the responsibility of bringing some “healthier” cookies this Christmas. I made a few recipes from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan – no refined sugar, animal products, or wheat 🙂

  2. My boyfriend is German and consequently loves anything with ginger or that even resembles gingerbread in the slightest! I’m looking forward to surprising him with these on our anniversary soon – Niki x

    • I don’t have the calorie count – I’m sorry! I try not to focus on calories and I put more of my focus on just sticking to whole foods and listening to my body when I’m full. I just checked out your post though and those Dark Chocolate Banana Protein Muffins look amazing! I’ll definitely have to try those out 🙂

Leave a Reply

