Chocolate Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”

The self-serve frozen yogurt craze spread to our area probably a year or two ago.  I think my husband and I were responsible for the majority of their earnings in the first year.  We were probably going about three times a week. 

ChocolatePeanutButterIceCream

That’s an expensive (and sugary) habit!  I still love my frozen yogurt (one of the reasons why I haven’t gone completely vegan) but I also like to have more control over what I put into my body.

ChocolatePeanutButterIceCreamChocolatePeanutButterIceCream

Making “frozen yogurt” or “ice cream” at home is less expensive, SO much better for you, and uses up those browning bananas that would normally go to waste.  And a chocolate/peanut butter combination?  Need I say more?

ChocolatePeanutButterIceCream

Chocolate Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”      

Ingredients

  • 2 Bananas, cut into large chunks & frozen for at least 2 hours
  • 1 6oz container of plain Greek Yogurt (I use Fage 0%) – omit if vegan
  • 2 TBSP Peanut Butter
  • 1-2 TBSP Cocoa Powder
  • 1 TBSP Honey or Agave Nectar

Directions

Blend the banana chunks in a food processor until they look like “crumbs”.  Add the remaining ingredients and blend until smooth.  Serve immediately or freeze for later (but keep in mind that it will be more like soft-serve right away and hard like ice cream after re-frozen.

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”

  1. Pingback: Creamy Sweet Potato Peanut Soup {Vegan} {GF} | whole food runner

Leave a Reply

