It’s Marathon Time!

Happy Friday All!  I hope everyone is looking forward to the weekend, any big plans?

This is a big weekend for me, my second full marathon is happening tomorrow morning, bright and early.  I thought I would use this post as an opportunity to reflect back on my recent training.

I didn’t realize that training for my second full marathon would be so much easier than training for my first.  Maybe it’s because I have more confidence this time around since I know my body is actually capable to make it the 26.2 miles.  Or it could be because I laid out a much better, less strenuous training plan, focusing on building my “super” long runs every other week as opposed to every single week (which led to injury last year 2 weeks out from the marathon).

I won’t go so far as to say it has been easy training.  If you live anywhere in the US (even Hawaii!) you know that it has been a pretty brutal winter so far.  Below is a shot of my frozen Camelback tube, filled with water that was supposed to get me through a 16 miler.

Frozen

That day, it was 26 degrees with a wind chill of 16.  Fun fun!  What made it even better?  This is what I was doing after that:

IceBath

Runners are crazy, aren’t they?  But at the end of the day, there several things that make all this pain worth it.  For instance, I got to run with some of my favorites one day over the holidays :

RunningFriends

Above is a picture of one of my best friends visiting from Texas and my sister).  And last but not least, I will get to add some bling to this collection :):

RaceBling

Good luck to everyone running a race this weekend!

12 thoughts on “It’s Marathon Time!

Leave a Reply

