Race Recap: Charleston Marathon 2014

Last time you heard from me was this past Friday, and I was a bundle of nerves, getting ready to head out of town to run in my second-ever full marathon.  As you can see, I survived the race and I’m here to tell you all about how it went!

CharlestonMarathon

If you compare the week before this race to the week before my first full marathon (last year in Disney World), I was as cool as a cucumber.  Of course, last year, you couldn’t mention the race without me being on the verge of tears.  I have never been so nervous in my life (mainly because I wasn’t sure I was even going to be able to start the race let alone finish it due to a hip injury I received late in training)!

This race was so much more laid back too so I think that helped.  There were only about 5,000 runners at this past weekend’s race versus about 30,000 in Disney!  I also didn’t have to get up until 6 AM which was sleeping in late compared to Disney (my alarm went off at 2:30 AM).  Most importantly, I trusted in my training this time and I had a lot more confidence going into this race.

So let’s talk details.  The weather was OK.  It was cold (although some of you may think I’m a sissy for thinking 36°F is cold!) and while that was alright with me, the wind was the biggest annoyance.  The entire race, the winds were blowing up to 20 mph.  The good news?  I think I got a nice little tan on my face from the wind burn!

I had a few goals this time around:

  • #1, I wanted to beat my Disney time of 4:27.  I didn’t think that was going to be a problem since I focused on keeping things slow in Disney in order to protect my hip.
  • #2, I ultimately wanted to be under 4:15, closer to 4:08/4:09 (or average out to a 9:30 pace).  I figured shooting for a sub-4 goal would be unrealistic and I didn’t want to disappoint myself especially since that meant shaving almost 28 minutes off my last time!
  • #3, I wanted to have fun.  While hitting a PR can bring a HUGE rush of emotions at the END of a race, it’s not worth it to me to be completely miserable the whole time.  I am fine with pushing myself a little out of my comfort zone, but I refused to cross that finish line in agony.

CharlestonMarathonFinish

So how did it go?  I crushed my Disney time (yay!), I met my second goal and came in under 4:08/4:15, and I definitely had fun.  I crossed the finish line with a smile on my face in 04:01:58 (9:14 pace)!  Of course, as soon as I crossed the line and found my husband, when he told me “Ooh just under 4:02 babe!”  My response was, “Seriously!? Damn, I guess I’ll have to do another one…”

CharlestonMarathonMedal

Why are we runners never satisfied :)?  The BEST part of the race though (as with most races) is seeing my loved ones cheering me on.  I got to see the hubby at around mile 3 (an accident – he dropped me off at the start and then couldn’t get back to our hotel to meet my family), then I saw the rest of the fam at mile 4.5 (my parents, my sister, her BF and my cousins even came down from NJ for the event!).  Last but not least, the thing that gets me through every time, they were all right at the finish line, taking pictures, cheering me on through the last few yards, and there to greet me as I crossed the finish of my second marathon.  It doesn’t get any better!

CharlestonMarathonFinishHubby

With the Hubby

CharlestonMarathonFinishParents

My Parents

CharlestonMarathonFinishSister

My Beautiful Sister

CharlestonMarathonFinishCousins

My favorite cousin and is lovely girlfriend

I hope everyone else had a fabulous weekend!

7 thoughts on “Race Recap: Charleston Marathon 2014

  1. Congratulations on your marathon, that’s a great time especially considering those conditions! Lots of people I talked to said they had a rough race and I can see why. Don’t feel like a wimp because it’s usually warmer than that here in January, hehe :). Hope you had a great visit to Charleston!

Leave a Reply

