The Point of No Return

Before I really got into running races, I remember reading an article somewhere back in the day about post-marathon depression and I thought to myself, “Really? That sounds silly – just keep running!”

ThePointOfNoReturn

It sometimes freaks me out how addicting running is.  It’s like being a healthy drug addict (not that I would know what being a drug addict is like).  But it’s true.  It’s something that I have to have ALL the time (my husband would attest to this).  Vacations are planned around my run/race schedule, I am ALWAYS researching races and signing up for something and I don’t remember a time when I didn’t have something I was training for.  I just ran my second full marathon and I already have two half-marathons coming up in March & April.

Even with the continuation of crazy running, races planned and so on, it still is possible to have post-race blues.  It makes sense if you think about it.  You work so hard for so long to reach a certain goal.  The event comes and goes and you live off the high for a little bit, then settle back into reality and think, “now what?”  My answer above to keep signing up for races is how I cope with the “post-race blues” but it still doesn’t really get the job done.  I can only run so many races and try so many times to break my PR.

So what is the answer?  What happens when you reach the point of no return?  I guess as long as I can keep running, whatever distance I choose and it keeps me happy and healthy, it doesn’t really matter what the answer to that question is…right?

5 thoughts on “The Point of No Return

  1. Although I am not even close to the level of running you are, but I have some ideas (I just consumed a ton of coffee and my mind is racing, lol).

    Maybe you could try for a week running without the numbers. Don’t keep track of the mileage or the time or your pace, just fun for the pure joy. I don’t know if you have a dog or could “borrow” (lol) a friends, but when I ran with my dog it really struck me how much positive energy he exuded from just running in the moment with me. Maybe it will help you get through the blues?

    Or maybe try out one of those color runs. I don’t know if you’ve tried one yet or not, I am determined to try one myself this year, but it looks like a ton of fun!

    Or, and this is my last one, maybe find a friend who doesn’t run a lot or who has been trying to lose weight and offer to run with them. Volunteering one of your runs to slow down and connect with someone else might feel very rewarding for you.

    Just some ideas!

    • Thank you SO much for all of your ideas!! The “fun” isn’t exactly missing from my runs, it’s more like the satisfaction of crossing the finish line of a race is starting to become less exciting (if that makes any sense). I definitely think your suggestions could help keep things interesting in general though. Great tips!

  2. I experienced the post-race blues after my first half-marathon, and I quickly learned the best way to combat it is to sign up for another race! I still get it a little but though, no matter what I do!

Leave a Reply

