Roasted Tomato & Spinach Risotto with Toasted Walnuts {Vegan} {GF}

Hello friends!

RoastedTomatoRisottoRoastedTomatoRisotto

Oh how I have missed you all so dearly. My last post – Bear with me… – was meant to inform you that I was going on a “short” break since morning sickness got the best of me and I couldn’t even THINK about my own blog and recipes without almost running to the toilet to throw up (sorry for the visual). What I neglected to realize was just how darn tired pregnancy makes you. The last thing I wanted to do when getting home from work was 1. Cook 2. Take pictures. 3. Think of new recipes to cook and take pictures of. And 4. Blog about those recipes I didn’t have the energy to think of, cook, or take pictures of.

RoastedTomatoRisottoRoastedTomatoRisotto

Now that I got all that off my chest, I decided to make my come-back with one of my new favorites – Roasted Tomato & Spinach Risotto with Toasted Walnuts.

RoastedTomatoRisottoRoastedTomatoRisotto

This recipe has become a new staple in our household. Risotto used to intimidate me. With all the pouring, stirring, absorbing that has to take place, I thought – who has time for this? It actually doesn’t take as long as it seems like it will and the end product is well worth it!

RoastedTomatoRisotto8RoastedTomatoRisotto9

Especially now that the weather is starting to change and get cooler, this is the perfect one-bowl, comfort meal to cozy up with.

RoastedTomatoRisotto19RoastedTomatoRisotto16

Oh and did I mention that it’s also vegan AND gluten-free? Everybody wins! (Except carnivores that is…).

RoastedTomatoRisotto13

Enjoy!

RoastedTomatoRisotto21

Roasted Tomato & Spinach Risotto with Toasted Walnuts {Vegan} {GF}

Ingredients

  • 3 Vine-Ripened Tomatoes, diced
  • 1 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 4 ½ cups of low-sodium Vegetable Broth
  • ½ cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • ½ 6oz can of Tomato Paste
  • 2 cloves of Garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp Onion Powder
  • Sea Salt & Black Pepper
  • 1 ½ cups Arborio Rice
  • 2 cups Fresh Spinach, chopped
  • ½ cup Nutritional Yeast

Directions

Preheat your oven to 400°F.  Add diced tomatoes to a small baking dish and drizzle with olive oil.  Roast in the oven for 15-20 minutes.  Add them to a food process and blend until smooth.

In a small saucepan, add the broth and place on the stove on low heat.  Keep it on low heat and stir occasionally (you just want the liquid to be warm when you add it to the arborio rice).

In a medium saucepan, add the almond milk, tomato paste, onion powder, garlic, salt & pepper and heat over medium heat.  Heat and stir until the tomato paste has “melted” and everything is combined.  Add the rice and cook for about 5 minutes, until the rice is just beginning to brown.  Add the warm broth about ½ cup at a time, stirring pretty regularly.  Continue this process until all of the broth has been used up, lowering the heat if necessary.

After all of the broth has been used up, add the pureed tomatoes to the mixture and stir to combine.  Stir in the nutritional yeast and chopped spinach and season with more salt & pepper if necessary.

Leave a Reply

