Dark Chocolate Chunk Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”

Warning: Do not attempt to make this unless you have a high-powered blender or food processor.  I may have forgotten to mention that when I posted about Snickerdoodle “Ice Cream”.  My apologies.

DarkChocolateChunkPeanutButterIceCream

The first time I tried to make ice cream out of frozen bananas, I blew the motor in our little Cuisinart.  Since the craving for ice cream had already hit, the only option I had was to go out to Bed Bath & Beyond and buy their most expensive food processor.

DarkChocolateChunkPeanutButterIceCream2

I didn’t mean to break the bank with a kitchen appliance but let me tell you something.  I use this sucker EVERY DAY.  It has become my kitchen BFF.

DarkChocolateChunkPeanutButterIceCream3

Not to mention that it makes the most delicious guilt-free “ice cream”.   Frozen banana chunks are pureed into creamy scrumptiousness and blended with peanut butter and dark chocolate chips.  If you are vegan, omit the yogurt and honey.  You’ll end up with very similar results, just less (which is of course why I choose to add it – more ice cream is always better).

DarkChocolateChunkPeanutButterIceCream4

Dark Chocolate Chunk Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”          

Ingredients

  • 2 Bananas, cut into large chunks & frozen for at least 2 hours
  • 1 6oz container of plain Greek Yogurt (I use Fage 0%)
  • 2 TBSP Natural Peanut Butter
  • 1 TBSP Honey
  • A few handfuls of Dark Chocolate Chips

Directions

Blend the banana chunks in a food processor until they look like “crumbs”.  Add the remaining ingredients (except for the chocolate chips) and blend until smooth.  Add the chocolate chips and pulse until they are well-combined and starting to break up.  Serve immediately or freeze for later (but keep in mind that it will be more like soft-serve right away and hard like ice cream after re-frozen.

One thought on “Dark Chocolate Chunk Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”

Leave a comment